Poker news archive

Scott Seiver Wins the $5,000 No Limit Holdem Event in 2008 WSOP

On June 14th, 2008, Internet poker player Scott Seiver won his very first World Series of Poker bracelet in the $5000 No Limit Holdem Poker event. He entered the final table with $1.5 million in chip lead and proceeded to edge out the other players in the table.

Seiver defeated Dave Seid in the heads-up showdown in order to claim the champion bracelet and the $755,856 first place prize money. This is Seiver's sixth World Series of Poker cash in and his third win of the series. The playing field started on Day with the biggest names in the poker circuit. Michael Mizrachi, Eli Elezra, Hasan Habib and Humberto Brenes were able to make it to Day Two with good stacks but could not continue their good run until the second day.

The final table was made up of new poker players like Seiver, Seidman, Adam Geyer, and Anders Henriksson. Poker pro Jacobo made his 2nd final table appearance in the event, finishing in 4th place for $238,781. Before the tournament, Fernandez only have 2 World Series of Poker cash-ins on his poker career before the 2008 series started, but he was able to cashed in around four times in the first 2 weeks of the series.

After Fernandez left the table, Ben Sprengers was the next one to go, leaving Seiver and Seidman in the heads-up showdown, which only lasted in under an hour.


06/22/2008 03:16 PM